How To Set Up Hotmail on Android

* UPDATE: You can check out the updated version over on Android Dissected *

Quick Introduction

Although KitKat has been out for quite a while, it still seems to have a bit of a problem setting up Hotmail accounts; a problem which has been with Android since the release of Ice Cream Sandwich. I’m sure most of you got your shiny new devices and were disappointed that your device couldn’t even set up the most simple of things: email. You probably faced a “can’t connect to server” error and after meticulously double-checking your email address and password fields, as well as various settings, eventually gave up. Apparently, Microsoft has decided to change its Hotmail servers and this gives Android a problem when trying to connect to the server.

And yes, I am 100% certain that there will be some of you who will whine about how Hotmail is old/stupid and that Gmail is the best thing since sliced bread and that you’re such a better person than the people who use Hotmail and blah blah blah etc. If that’s the case, congratulations; you don’t use Hotmail. Good for you. I’m not entirely sure why you felt compelled to click on an article titled “How To Set Up Hotmail On Android” if you don’t even use Hotmail but oh, well. More views for me, I guess.

Anyways, after doing some extremely difficult and very thorough research (read: Googling), I found a way to set up Hotmail on any Android device running Android 4.0 or higher. It might work for you guys running Gingerbread (my condolences, by the way) but I haven’t actually tested it so I don’t know.

I got it working with Ice Cream Sandwich when I first got my trusty Galaxy Nexus and I try my best to regularly update the article to ensure the methods below will work with each release of Android. The device I’m using right now is a Galaxy Nexus running Android 4.4.2 but the process should be the same for any version of Android, be it on a tablet or a phone (I also tested this on a Motorola Xoom, HTC Sensation, HTC One, and Asus Transformer Prime, each running various versions of Android).

Alternatively, you could use the default Outlook app but we all know that it’s just plain awful. Before we begin, I’d like to point out that as far as I can tell, this only works for @hotmail.com or @hotmail.co.uk accounts. The steps are exactly the same for both accounts so don’t type in “debug-m.hotmail.co.uk” or something like that if you’ve got a @hotmail.co.uk account (it should be “debug-m.hotmail.com” etc.)

Download The Latest Email App

To make things a bit easier for you, I’ve got the download links for both the Email app and the relevant Exchange Services for Android 4.4.

Downloading them is in no way necessary (my method should work with every version of the app and anyway, it should already be pre-installed in your phone) but if you’d like to use the exact version I’m using, feel free to download it below. A big thank you to Android Police for the download links  🙂

Download Email v6.0-893803

Download Exchange Services v6.0-893803

How To Set It All Up

1) Tap on “Email” in your app drawer

2) You should see the screen below. Type in your email address and password. Tap Next. If all goes well, you should end up at Step 7 (Skip Steps 3 – 6).

1 - Email Setup

* If you encounter an error, repeat Steps 1 and 2 (DON’T press Next). Move on to Step 3.*

3) Once you’ve typed in your details, tap on “Manual Setup”.

2 - Manual Setup

4) Select “Exchange” from the list of options.

3 - Exchange

5) Fill out the fields as indicated below:

  • Domain\Username: delete the “\” and type in your full email address
  • Password: type in your Hotmail password
  • Server: type in “debug-m.hotmail.com”.
    • If that doesn’t work, repeat Steps 1 – 4 and use “m.hotmail.com”
    • If that doesn’t work either, repeat Steps 1 – 4 and use “blu-m.hot mail.com”
  • Make sure the Security Type is “SSL/TLS”

4 - Account Setup

6) Tap on “Next”.

7) Choose whatever options you want (how frequently it should check for email, how much it should sync etc.). Tap on “Next”.

5 - Additional Settings

8) A little loading icon may appear as it syncs your email account.

9) Congratulations! Your email is all set up and you can now set a name for the mailbox.

6 - Final Touches

Your account should be completely set up by now. It should be syncing your email as you read this very sentence. Once again, this setup has only been tested on @hotmail.com and @hotmail.co.uk accounts.

If you’re still having trouble Hotmail, let me know in the comments below and I’ll try my best to help you out.

54 thoughts on “How To Set Up Hotmail on Android

  1. ClaLoka says:

    What a great article! It’s really informative and innovative. Keep us posted with new updates. It was really valuable. Thanks a lot!!

  2. dinoswatch says:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to present something back and aid others such as you helped me.

  3. abpm says:

    Hello there, just turned into alert to your weblog via Google, and located that it is really informative. I’ll be grateful when you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  4. ContrInfo says:

    Attractive element of content. I just stumbled upon your website and actually loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing on your feeds or even I success you access consistently quickly.

  5. Cab says:

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Febbraio says:

    I like the helpful info you supply for your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and test once more right here regularly. I am fairly certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

  7. Lanny Vidler says:

    I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogging and site-building and absolutely liked you’re web-site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have remarkable articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing with us your website page.

  8. compra says:

    I take pleasure in, cause I found exactly what I was taking a look for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  9. ban tin cong nghe says:

    You could certainly see your expertise within the paintings you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

    • Yeah, I’ve heard that some phones work with m.hotmail.com. Thanks for the information; I’ll make sure to add that to the post. I’ve only tested it with the Galaxy Nexus, Xoom and Transformer Prime and they all needed to use debug-m.hotmail.com.

      What device do you have and what version of Android are you using?

  10. After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment. There has to be a means you can remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!|

    • Yeah, the email thing gets really annoying lol. You should have gotten an email confirming your subscription. On the email, there should be a link to unsubscribe. Click that, then follow the instructions and you’ll be unsubscribed.

  11. RO Bennett says:

    Zaeem — Your advice is both informative and helpful. However, as you say, it is only suitable for user@hotmail.com accounts. Try as I might, I cannot manage to get of the suggested settings to ‘take’ on an Android Jellybean 4.2.2 device using an username@hotmail.co.uk account.

    If you happen across a solution, I should be obliged to know.

    Best regards

    RO Bennett

      • RO Bennett says:

        Zaeem

        Thank you for your prompt reply.

        Yes, I have tried signing in normally — ie simply entering:
        (1) username@hotmail.co.uk
        (2) password

        Using the Android native e-mail app for the Samsung Galaxy SG 4 and this did not work …. but, as I type …

        this method seems to be working! So, what has changed since my first attempts? (I followed your instructions and all the permutations very carefully.)

        I can only think it must be one of the following:

        (a) Android handset unique identification code: Samsung’s privacy policy states that it will automatically pass on the unique identification code of any Samsung mobile handset being used to access mobile e-mail to the e-mail service provider — this is the case with Hotmail set-up; and / or

        (b) I logged into my Hotmail account online via a Web browser and accessed the security settings on my Hotmail account (which I did not change). However, in doing so, I triggered the security protocol which sends a verification code to another e-mail address which I also have set-up on the SG 4. Might this have provided ‘authentication’ to Microsoft?

        I thought I would check the server settings, and it seems that they have defaulted to a POP3/SMTP combination with incoming/outgoing server settings as follows:

        :: Incoming Server: POP3 Server ::
        Username: username@hotmail.co.uk
        Password: xxxxx
        POP3 server: pop3.live.com
        Security type: SSL
        Port: 995
        Delete email from server: Never

        :: Outgoing Server: SMTP Server ::
        SMTP server: smtp.live.com
        Security Type: TLS
        Port: 587
        Require sign-in Yes [ticked check-box]
        Username: username@hotmail.co.uk
        Password: xxxx

        So, the relevant POP3 and SMTP server domains are both live.com, a change which, in the UK (where I am based), but have come in when Microsoft ‘upgraded’ Hotmail to Outlook.com.

        I do not think I would have discovered these settings, had I not gone through the mill, encouraged by your helpful post.

        The question for me now, is, can I change the settings to an IMAP-style configuration so that I can access any user-created sub-folders on my Android device?

        Best regards

        RO Bennett

    • Sutton says:

      to RO Bennet… I have a @hotmail.co.uk account but when typed in the debug-m.hotmail.COM as my server and it worked. Got to be worth a try?

    • Sutton says:

      to RO Bennet – I have a @hotmail.CO.UK account but I typed in debug-m.hotmail.COM as my server and it worked – just thought it was worth a try?

  12. RO Bennett,

    Thanks for posting such a detailed reply! I’m sure anyone else who’s got the same problem will greatly appreciate it.

    I’m glad it’s all working for you now. Funnily enough, setting up using pop3.live.com was the exact method I was going to suggest if my original suggestion didn’t work for you.

    As to how you can change the settings to an IMAP-styled configuration, unfortunately, I have absolutely no idea. I am not sure that you’d be able to change it since you’re using a POP3 configuration, but I might be wrong.

    One thing I noticed is that you won’t get notifications for new emails in your sub-folders for some reason; it only shows notifications for emails which show up in your actual Inbox.

    That said, you should be able to access all sub-created folders on your phone’s Email application. I’ve not much experience with Samsung’s Email application since I’ve only used Stock Android. I know for a fact there’s a Folders icon on the stock Email app so there should be one on Samsung’s version too. Perhaps if you try tapping the Labels/Move button, you’d be able to see all the folders.

    If that doesn’t work, could you send me a screenshot of the main email interface? Perhaps we’ll be able to work it out from there.

    Sorry I couldn’t be of more help.

    Regards,

    Zaeem Siddiqui

  13. Sutton says:

    Thanks so much – it worked for me!! – for info : if you have a hotmail.CO.UK account you still have to use the debug-m.hotmail.COM server (it doesnt work if you use debug-m.hotmail.CO.UK

  14. Thanks for your help, seems to work.

    However, as I don’t wish the emails to be deleted from the server when I delete them from the Galaxy Tab 2, I ticked off “sync emails”. Now it doesn’t receive emails at all anymore.

    I don’t understand why nobody fixes Hotmail problems. On my Iphone I also have problems. On the Galaxy tab I like the Email app much better than the external Outlook app, but I’m forced to use the Outlook one because of stupid Hotmail.

    • Hey Thomas,

      If you turn off Sync Emails, you won’t get any emails on your phone at all. You need to turn it on if you want to be able to check your email.

      If you delete an email, it moves the email to the Deleted folder on Hotmail (it’s named Recycle Bin in the Android app) but the email will still be on the server. If you want to delete it permanently, you need to open the Deleted folder and delete it yourself.

  15. Thanks for your answer. It’s a shame, I don’t want the serve to be “touched”. Email app is great but doesn’t work in POP3. Outlook app works (and doesn’t delete from the server) but I find it not intuitive.Quite disappointed by this Galaxy Tab II, I can’t even update it because Norway has not been rolled out for android 4.1 😦

  16. Clark Taylor says:

    Question. If I just enter in the e-mail address and password, it sets it up as Pop3. Problem is that deleted e-mails don’t really get deleted. So I set it up as you outlined (as an Exchange). Everything works great, except that the e-mails now display as plain text instead of as HTML. Any ideas how to fix this? This problem does not occur when using it as Pop3.

    Don’t know if it matters, but it is technically an “msn.com” e-mail address, though I think that is really just hotmail.com.

    • Clark Taylor says:

      One more comment. I am using the m.hotmail.com server address, though I tried debug-m.hotmail.com with the same results.

    • The fact that it’s a ‘msn.com’ email address shouldn’t pose too big of a problem for this. If you set it up as an Exchange, it should display your emails as full HTML and not plain text. I’m not sure why it would do that, I’m afraid.

  17. SLK says:

    THANKS!

    I just got my first cell phone (ever) this week (a Kyocera Event) and I’ve been going nuts trying to make the built-in email app work with hotmail. Your easy to follow instructions had me up and running in less that 5 minutes, the “blu-m.hot mail.com” server address is the one that worked.

  18. dabman says:

    blu-m.hot mail.com still works for my motorola RAZR Maxx as of today.

    Thank you, hope this link gets bumped up in the google search…

    • Hey dabman,

      I’m glad it worked out for you! Hopefully this post will continue to be useful to anyone who’s having issues with Hotmail. I’ll try my best to update it regularly 🙂

  19. Adam says:

    Hi! My email set up keeps on saying that i have entered the wrong password or username, i don’t understand why because i use the same username and password to sign in online. What must i do? Pls help!

    • Did you try all the different methods? If it’s still giving you the same error then it’s probably a problem with the server. Apparently Hotmail’s been having issues with that.

  20. VA says:

    It’s still not working! I tried every nook and cranny! I used many servers, like blu-m.hotmail.com, m.hotmail.com, m.live.com, m.outlook.com, etc. etc. and it still won’t work!

    I have Android 4.4,2 btw!

  21. Vapourtrailer says:

    Been looking for a while on how to solve this! Bless you and thank you. Greetings from Barcelona, all the best! B

Leave a Reply

