Google Goggles = Pure Sudoku Awesomeness!!

I am an avid Sudoku-er. I do the puzzles every single day. Grab a newspaper on my way to university and solve it on the bus. Grab another newspaper when I get to Uni and solve it before the first lecture. Mentally do a few in my head. Then I just do some puzzles on my phone. It really is absolutely fantastic! šŸ™‚

Anyway, as I was messing about with my phone today, I noticed something which is probably the coolest thing I’ve seen in a while. Google Goggles has always been a great app, even if people don’t use it that often. I happen to use it a lot since I take quite a lot of random pictures for no apparent reason other than to see if it can scan things properly. Kudos to Google for implementing some seriously cool software.

Here’s what you need to do to be able to ‘solve’ Sudoku puzzles in under a minute (or trick your friends into thinking you’re clever, if you’re really that desperate for attention) :

1) Install Google Goggles (if you haven’t already).

 

2) Get any unsolved/partially-solved Sudoku puzzle (I’m just taking a picture from the website: www.websudoku.com for presentation purposes)

 

3) Open Google Goggles and select the Camera option.

 

4) Take a picture of the Sudoku puzzle (you might have to use the Crop tool) and wait for Google to do its magic.

 

5) Tap on the “Sudoku Puzzle” option at the bottom.

 

6) Your default browser (mine is Chrome) will open up. Click on the “Solve” button.

 

7) Watch and be amazed. In all seriousness, how cool is that?! šŸ˜€

 

And that’s pretty much it. Honestly, this is an exceptionally brilliant technological feat. However, it’s a bit of a hit-and-miss situation. I had to take the picture about 5 times before it recognized it as a Sudoku puzzle and not a shopping item (no idea how it managed to confuse the two). Still, when it does work, it is absolutely fantastic!

Here’s a video which shows how to do it properly: Google Goggles Sudoku Demo

11 thoughts on “Google Goggles = Pure Sudoku Awesomeness!!

  1. Sarah J says:

    I truly wanted to write down a remark to say thanks to you for these magnificent posts you are writing on this website. I would repeat that we visitors actually are definitely blessed to be in a really good place with so many brilliant blog posts. I feel quite blessed to have encountered the web page and look forward to spending some more time reading here. Thanks once more for a lot of things!

  2. Chris Winters says:

    I truly liked this blog. I assume your information is actually truly good. šŸ™‚ But I realized that the post headline a little mundane! I think you definitely may strengthen on the title by referencing exactly how the best writers do it. This is actually a shame that you don’t have sufficient visibility just because of your blog headlines.

  3. Jacob Shaw says:

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. However, imagine if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could definitely be one of the very best in its niche. Great blog!

  4. I simply want to tell you that I’m all new to weblog and truly loved your page. Most likely Iā€™m planning to bookmark your website . You definitely have impressive article content. Thanks a bunch for sharing your web site.

Leave a Reply

